Farseer Trilogy

Author: Hobb, Robin
Robin Hobb has received significant praise for her Realm of the Elderlings world, which spans four series and several other short works. However, among that epic list, The Farseer Trilogy stands out as the strongest coming of age story. It chronicles the beginning of Fitz Chivalry's story, a royal bastard who ends up an assassin. It's not a new idea, building on classic tropes and settings to build a compelling story. However, Hobb's execution is somewhat different to the norm. Fitz is very much fallible. Despite the gift of magic, he often makes mistakes, misses clues, and undergoes hardships. It's difficult to maintain a likable character despite this, but Hobb expertly builds Fitz shortcomings as natural learning experiences. Fitz never becomes perfect, and that's what makes him feel so real. Read if you like: Imperfect characters, long series, fantasy assassin.

Books in Farseer Series (2)

Booklists having this book

Top 25 Best Assassin Books

There are a lot of different choices when it comes to fantasy. Sprawling epics, fairy tale adaptations, urban, the list goes on. However, sometimes you're just in the mood for... Read more

Top 50 Best Coming of Age Fantasy Books

Coming of age stories are one of the oldest themes in fiction, providing a sense of progression and growth that can't be rivaled. This is a theme that's as old... Read more

Best Fantasy Series

Do you love those fantasy novels with many kingdoms, protagonists, politics, and cultures? Do you like the epic struggles between small bands of heroes against impossible evil? Do you eagerly... Read more

Top 50 Best Epic Fantasy

Epic fantasy is arguably the father of all fantasy subgenres. It's also the most popular fantasy genre, with hordes of new epic fantasy books being released each month. Unfortunately, the... Read more

Top 25 Best Heroic Fantasy Books

Heroic Fantasy is perhaps the most iconic of its class. It carries the flagship heavyweights like The Lord of the Rings; hefty not only in size but in imagination. We... Read more

Other books by Hobb, Robin

Assassin's Apprentice

How could a story about the apprentice of an assassin not be grimdark? It couldn't, that's how. This first entry sparked off three trilogies about the one protagonist, which contain... Read more

Farseer Trilogy

Robin Hobb has received significant praise for her Realm of the Elderlings world, which spans four series and several other short works. However, among that epic list, The Farseer Trilogy... Read more

Assassin's Quest

 Read more

Fool's Errand (the Tawny Man)

 Read more

Golden Fool (the Tawny Man)

 Read more

Fool's Fate (the Tawny Man)

 Read more

Fool's Assassin (the Fitz And The Fool)

 Read more

Fool's Quest (the Fitz And The Fool)

 Read more

Liveship Traders Trilogy

A nautical fantasy featuring pirates, dragons, and magic? What's not to love? To top it off, Liveship Traders is filled with fantastic women. Ronica, the widow of the liveship's former... Read more

Mad Ship (liveship Traders)

 Read more

Assassin's Apprentice

Hobb is one of the best characterization writers in the Fantasy genre. Her characters are vividly real, leaping out of the pages into our minds as living characters. She has... Read more

Ship Of Destiny

 Read more

The Dragon Keeper

Hobb’s Farseer trilogy incorporates a dragon theme into the mythos of the world, though dragons are not really a tangible presence in the day-to-day happenings of the book. Her not-quite-a-direct-sequel... Read more

Dragon Haven

 Read more

City Of Dragons

 Read more

Blood Of Dragons

 Read more

Fool's Assassin

This is one of those books you didn't know you needed until you actually start reading it. Kind of like that old friend you don't realize how much you really... Read more

Fool's Quest

 Read more

The Farseer Trilogy

One of my favorite fantasy trilogies of all time and one of the best audiobook trilogies.  Youâll fall in love with the characters and their stories thanks to Robin Hobbâs... Read more

Assassin's Fate: Book Iii Of The Fitz And The Fool Trilogy

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The stunning conclusion to Robin Hobb’s Fitz and the Fool trilogy, which began with Fool’s Assassin and Fool’s Quest“Every new Robin Hobb novel is a... Read more