Lake, Jay Biography

Jay Lake was an American science fiction and fantasy author born in 1964 in Taiwan. He is known for his works in the science fiction and fantasy genres, particularly his short stories.Lake's most notable works include the "Green" series, which follows the adventures of a young woman named Green who is taken in by a witch and given magical powers, and the "Mainspring" series, which explores a world where the clockwork universe is literally powered by a giant spring.Lake's writing is known for its vivid imagery, unique world-building, and exploration of philosophical and ethical themes. He has won several awards for his writing, including the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2004 and the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 2014 for "The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere."In addition to his writing, Lake was also a cancer survivor and became an advocate for cancer research and awareness. He passed away in 2014 at the age of 49, but his works continue to be enjoyed by fans of science fiction and fantasy around the world.

Books by Lake, Jay

  • The Escapement:
  • Mainspring:
  • Pinion:
  • Mainspring: A universe of gears, literally. Mainspring really explores the idea of a gear-based universe to the extreme with the universe a giant clockwork being wound up by a mainspring, first...